Understanding Ashtanga Yoga

Understanding Ashtanga Yoga 102

Yoga both on and off the mat is crucial. This Diwali polish your inner true self more brightly by mindfully applying the ten rules 1. Yamas (5) & 2. Niyamas (5) in your day-to-day life.  Moving on to understanding Ashtanga Yoga’s other six limbs apart from Yamas and Niyamas

      1. Yamas (5) & 2. Niyamas (5)  (covered in the earlier blog. Click here for details)

  1. Asana –                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      The morals and guiding principles in life i.e. 5 Yamas & 5 Niyamas help achieve peace of mind and purify our chitta. Now the physical stability, flexibility and strength can be acquired doing regular practice of Asanas with correct bhavas. All asanas help be it forwarding bending, backward bending, lateral bending or torsion asanas. These transform the clay body and help build a strong foundation to achieve the ultimate realization. Health is the by-product of yoga and asanas also help to realise that goal.

  2. Pranayama–                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         “Pran” means bio-energy and “ayama” means control. State of mind and thoughts are closely related. To achieve clarity of the mind pranayama is a very effective tool. By way of breathing we are controlling the thought process. Pranayama is a simple yet powerful practice since it helps us to deal with any situation better. All the pranayama’s will help to keep the mind composed and calm.

                                     Eight limbs of Ashtanga Yoga

  3. Pratyahara–                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             It is the connecting bridge between Bhairanga Yoga i.e. external and Antaranga Yoga i.e. internal. Here we try to curtail our external senses and move towards the true inner self. This is a handy practice that teaches us how we should be objective in life. We learn to let go and accept things as they are without changing them.

  4. Dharana–                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Patanjali’s Ashtanga yoga includes dharana or concentration for short term with conscious effort is the sixth of these eight limbs. Dharana in daily life helps to execute each task will ease and saves time because when you are focused you tend to make less errors.

  5. Dhyana–                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             Dhyana is contemplation or deep meditation taking you inwards. The difference between Dharana and Dhyana is that one requires effort to concentrate while in meditation there is no effort. This is helps in deep relaxation which is required to relieve daily stresses in life.

  6. Samadhi–                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             This is the ultimate realisation. Most of us dream of reaching this stage if not we are at-least curious about the final goal.

So this Diwali gift-yourself the wisdom and understanding Ashtanga Yoga, goodness and holistic health with The Yoga Institute programs. Click here to check out our latest offerings.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )
Join us along with many other Yoga enthusiasts who are receiving our newsletter and learning the various aspects of Yoga. Get the latest blog updates and our brand new Yogasattva Newsletter right in your inbox absolutely free!
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.
No Comments

Post A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.