Patanjali Yoga Sutra 1.46 (Parisamvad)

Patanjali Yoga Sutra Transcribed from Parisamvad at The Yoga Institute.

Chapter 1, Sutra 46



Ta: these, those, they
Eva: only
Sabijah: with seed
Samadhih: deep absorption of meditation

These Are The Samadhis With Seed (Having An Object For Meditation)

Listen to the audio:

Check this out on Chirbit

Dr. Jayadeva Yogendra:

“So we are on the 46th Sutra. These are about ‘Samadhis‘. We use only one word ‘Samadhi‘, but there are so many types. They could be gross- some definite object, or they could be subtle- towards ideas. And the mind has to be concentrating for long, and the knowledge that is gathered is very special. In these Samadhis, there are four kinds; whether I want to go into deep depths and understand the essence.

Now these are ideas which are very difficult for us to understand, but they are part of the study. The point is the so called attention, concentration. We no doubt are able to keep the mind somewhere, but that is very gross. We are not able to penetrate into the essence and that is what would give us the real knowledge. A Yogi sitting quietly for hours, in a quiet place, he is in touch with that essence and he understands. So these are described in detail. We can only know them by their names, Sabija (with seed) and Nirbija (without seed), Savichar (with thought) and Nirvichar (without thought).”

Smt. Hansaji J. Yogendra:

“Till now, whatever discussion we have done on Samadhi, it all comes under one group known as Sabija Samadhi. And then the second group will come which is the Nirbija Samadhi which is the final plunge. But the point is Sabija. Till now you had an object, so automatically your Citta is working. The Citta is not quiet, it is focussed on an object and we use the Citta to remain steady. Personally I feel that for a householder, till this stage it is perfect because you have responsibilities, duties, you have to life your life, you have to keep your Citta intact. Citta has to run, it has to be directed, it has to become one-pointed.

So till these varieties of Samadhis, the householders benefit a lot. The moment you sit quietly without any thought, even for some time, the capacity of the mind improves. So all these various things which we were talking of last time, the Alinga state, the five elements, ahamkara, Mahat and Prithvi itself which we can concentrate on, it is a stage and householders can reach here. And after that, if you have nothing to do in householdership, no other responsibilities or duties, then you can plunge to the other level which is Nirbija where the person remains blank for a long time.

In Sabija, the Citta remains intact, it is working, it can be put to some object of concentration. To come to this stage, it takes a long time and effort, where we have to train the Citta and it is in the state of Mudha and Vikshipta, full of thoughts and ideas and opinions and we have to stop that and make it totally steady, but it is still being used.

Read more on the Yoga Sutras in:

To order this book, write to

About Parisamvad

On every Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday, The Yoga Institute, Santacruz holds Parisamvad sessions – Free interactive sessions that are open to all. These session begin at 7:20 am and end around 7:45 am.

The Friday Parisamvad is dedicated to explanation of the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali by our esteemed Gurus, Dr. Jayadeva and Smt. Hansaji.

All are welcome to attend.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )
Subscribe to our newsletter to stay inspired and connected to The Yoga Institute that focuses on the body-mind-soul connection and its importance in leading with daily life. Every issue promotes finding your life in balance with the Yogic Techniques of Asana, Pranayama, Meditation, Recipes, and holistic ways to enhance your life.
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.
No Comments

Post A Comment