Patanjali Yoga Sutra 2.19 (Parisamvad)

Patanjali Yoga Sutra Transcribed from Parisamvad at The Yoga Institute.

Chapter 2, Sutra 19


Patanjali Yoga Sutra 2.19

Visesa Avisesa Lingamatra Alingani Gunaparvani

Visesa: specialized, particularized
Avisesa: unspecialized, unparticularized
Lingamatra: undifferentiated
Alingani: without a mark, undifferentiated, subtle
Gunaparvani: state of the gunas

The Stages Of The Gunas, The Defined, The Undefined, The Indicated Only And The Irresoluble Primary Matter

Listen to the audio:

Check this out on Chirbit

Dr. Jayadeva Yogendra:

“We are thinking with the Samkhya. This is a system – Samkhya and Yoga. So we are thinking from that point, about this external world, how it is made; there are discussions of that kind. There are things that are Vishesha – seen in form, colour, size and shape in the material world. And then there are Avishesha which have none of these characteristics but which are there, in the nature of awareness, consciousness, they are there. So these mix up the world and once we understand it, then problems are less. We get unnecessarily get bungled up in changeful things, pain at loss, happiness at gain and that kind of fluctuation goes on all our life. So Samkhya makes us understand that these kinds of external changes go on happening. They are not the reality.

Smt. Hansaji J. Yogendra:

“Today’s sutra is explaining the evolution, how there are various stages in which the person can experience the world. The earlier sutra said that you suffer and experience and go above that suffering. And what you expeirence is explained in today’s sutra. Various elements are there, technical words are used here, Vishesha, Avishesha. Those which are Panch Manabhuta i.e. the five elements, then there are five senses of perception, five senses of action, mind; all these are called Vishesha, things could be experienced. Another thing you could experience are the Tanmatras; sense of smell, touch, etc, the five senses. These are Avishesha. Then they talk of the finer stage of mind which is called as Mahat or Buddhi and that is called as Linga, you can experience that also. And when all the Gunas are balanced, Sattva, Rajas and Tamas, when they are totally balanced, you can’t experience anything. So all these together become the 24 elements and the 25th is consciousness.

“So the suffering goes on, the experiences, Drsya, what is there, is among these 24 things in the world. Now what we have to do is experience these things and go above the experience. Suffer but then go above the suffering. Of course, sometimes, when the understanding is poor, a person will get hurt, feel bad, but how ling will you go through that? Go above the experience. So all the things that you see, hear, feel, think, could be uplifted. You can see, but see from a positive angle, which would help you to maintain your balance, which would help you to stop unnecessary thoughts.

So all this world is available for our evolution. This world can take you to the worst state or the finest state, that is going above all these things.”

Read more on the Yoga Sutras in:

To order this book, write to

About Parisamvad

On every Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday, The Yoga Institute, Santacruz holds Parisamvad sessions – Free interactive sessions that are open to all. These session begin at 7:20 am and end around 7:45 am.

The Friday Parisamvad is dedicated to explanation of the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali by our esteemed Gurus, Dr. Jayadeva and Smt. Hansaji.

All are welcome to attend.


I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )
Subscribe to our newsletter to stay inspired and connected to The Yoga Institute that focuses on the body-mind-soul connection and its importance in leading with daily life. Every issue promotes finding your life in balance with the Yogic Techniques of Asana, Pranayama, Meditation, Recipes, and holistic ways to enhance your life.
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.
No Comments

Post A Comment